cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maria Love | Mentoring Others so they Can Achieve More

Macmillan Employee
Macmillan Employee
0 0 32
Maria Love My personal experiences and opportunities I have encountered drive me to #AchieveMore for the betterment of humanity through the advancement of science and medicine.
My personal experiences and opportunities I have encountered drive me to #AchieveMore for the betterment of humanity through the advancement of science and medicine.
My Journey to #AchieveMore

My name is Maria Love. I am a graduate student completing my Master of Science degree in Cellular and Molecular this year. My thesis focuses on HIV-infected older patients on longterm antiretroviral therapy and targeting a specific gene for potential drug therapies. I begin medical school this July as I aspire to be a podiatric surgeon. I want to work for a hospital and a professional sports team, preferably basketball as they have the most home games and I want to have a family. I have a vast number of scientific publications for my age, 4 specifically and will have 6 more before I am 28. I have accomplished this due to my passion for scientific advancement and a hard work ethic, by working full time as both and undergraduate and a graduate student in the laboratory. My personal medical experiences first inspired me to pursue the medical field. Specifically, when my pediatrician discovered an intestinal tumor during a check up and had to have it surgically removed within days. This experience when I was 8 years old tremendously opened my eyes to health care, as there was nobody in my family in the medical field. Once I began immersing myself in opportunities, I developed a passion for scientific research, healing and patient care. The betterment of humanity and the medicine of the future drives me to commit myself to the work that I do. In the future, I hope to be a mentor for those not only that want to pursue medicine, but especially tho