Learning and Growing

susan_bernstein
0 2 609

In the article “These College Students Don’t Like the System They’re In,” New York Times journalists Patrick Healy and Adrian J. Rivera convened a panel of twelve college students from diverse locations, political opinions, and race and class backgrounds to discuss and “describe how it feels to be in college right now.” Three out of twelve students offered tentatively optimistic responses. The remaining nine students gave pessimistic responses. Four of the students used words that suggested they felt invisible. The breakdown looks like this:

Tentatively Optimistic:

• Just fine. 
  • Grateful but doubtful.
  • Excited but new to this

Generally Pessimistic (Invisibility highlighted in cyan)

• Unheard
  • Disassociated.
  • I don’t really know another word to say it, but kind of “effed over,” I guess.
  • Small
  • Overwhelmed. 
  • Excessive stress. 
  • Unlooked at
  • Too necessary. 

As a writing teacher, I find the students’ feelings of invisibility very concerning. Whether literal in virtual spaces, or figurative in face-to-face classrooms, feelings of invisibility expressed by students in the Times article seem to become an impediment to learning and growing, as seen in these statements:

Obstacle to Learning and Growing (specific learning issues highlighted in light red)

• “And no matter how much you say. …I need help [professors] don’t offer it.”  
  • “The administration said [offering new signage] was too much money, and they don’t want to do it.”
  • “I’m taking so many useless classes that I’m paying for that have zero effect on what I want to do in life.
  • We made it very evident that we were unhappy, uncomfortable [with the professor expressing his opinion]. And yet he continued.”
  • If I say something that might disagree with [the professor], she would get offended and treat me differently.”