cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rebecca Whitney | Achieving More to Protect My Culture and My Identity

Macmillan Employee
Macmillan Employee
0 0 43
Rebecca Whitney I choose to heal myself and others by preserving culture and language for generations to come.
I choose to heal myself and others by preserving culture and language for generations to come.
My Journey to #AchieveMore

I am a writer, American Indian, linguist, and bookworm. I choose to heal myself and others by preserving culture and language for generations to come. It was Dr. Judith Maxwell, my linguistics professor, who suggested that I attend a program called Breath of Life, which caters specifically to Native Americans seeking to study their tribal languages. In today’s English-centric world, minority languages are fast disappearing, including my own heritage language, Quapaw. When language dies, culture—and by extension, identity—dies with it. When I attended Breath of Life, for the first time in my life, I was surrounded by a community with the same goals, doubts, fears, and setbacks as me. I realized that it was my calling to help revitalize my heritage language, Quapaw. As an undergraduate, I completed an honors thesis in which I translated four of ten Quapaw stories that were collected in the 1890s. They have since faded from tribal memory, so inntranslating these stories, I sought to return a piece of the past to my people. At the University of Arizona, I am pursuing an M.A. in Native American languages and linguistics. For my master’s thesis, I will finish the collection of stories and format them in a way that is accessible to the community: an illustrated collection of tribal stories in English and Quapaw.