How to be an Alum: Where Do I Live?

CollegeQuest
Macmillan Employee
Macmillan Employee
0 0 499
So you've graduated! Now what?

cq-post-banner-city-country

So, you're in the homestretch. You've dotted your "i's" and crossed your "t's." After years of studying and stressing, you can finally see the finish line: GRADUATION. And if you feel anything like how I felt: you are terrified. You were a student your entire life and now all of a sudden you're a "Real Adult" (whatever that means). Life post-graduation always seemed like an abstract dream, the same way you would tell people, "Yeah, I'll definitely go skydiving one day." Well, that day is now and there is no parachute.

But not to fear! The road you are traveling has been traveled before. "How to be an Alum" will give you tips from a fellow 20-something about how to survive your first year as an alum. We'll all figure this out together!

Great, I graduated. Now, where do I live?

Wherever makes the most financial, physical, and emotional sense for you in the present and near future! Some folks move to a different town, city, or even country after school. Some stay in the same town as their alma maters, and there are some who move back home to live with their parents (like me)! Whether you live alone, with roommates, with a significant other, or with family, it's all valid. There are no 'right' or 'wrong' ways to set up your living situation. In fact, take a look at these statistics*:

• About 32% of recent, American college grads live with their parents
  • About 32% of recent, American college grads live with a spouse or significant other
  • About 14% of recent, American college grads live alone or with a roommate(s)
  • About 22% of recent, American college grads have found some other sort of living arrangement (for example: traveling full-time or finding a temporary residence)