Connecting with Students in a Noisy World

Symphonie
Macmillan Employee
Macmillan Employee

Even before this attention economy forced educators into competition with social media apps, streaming services, and 24-hour news cycles, connecting with students and maintaining their interest in courses were challenging enough already. As a student, I remember feeling overwhelming moments of complete disinterest and ambivalence, even in courses I had been looking forward to for semesters with professors I cherished. It was like everything else in my personal life and in the world could and should take priority over school. When I had my first position as a teaching assistant in 2013 and the shoe was on the other foot I was at a loss for what to do. 

It’s been several years since I was a student or a TA but I still frequently hear about the challenges of connecting with students in such a noisy world. So, I’m wondering, what success have you all found in connecting and getting through to your students? What advice can you share with your fellow educators?

5 Replies